Charleston

meeting-st1

 

Spanish moss and intricate wrought iron ornamentation – these things use to bring to mind the Pirates of the Caribbean ride at Disneyland.  How sad (for me) that my only understanding of such lovely things was a campy ride at a commercial theme park!

 

gas-lamp

 

Needless to say, we had a great time and will definitely be visiting again.  We didn’t even scratch the surface exploring the city. 

 

museum

 

We did a lot of walking around, though, admiring beautiful detail everywhere.

 

tiles1

 

Husband enjoyed fresh shrimp and grits at Hyman’s – a restaurant at which we ate on the recommendation of friends.

 

kids-in-front-of-hymans1

 

My favorite food experience was Taco Boy in Folly Beach.  We ate there in spite of our fear of South Carolinean Mexican food, but we figured that since it was near the beach, that would somehow make it good.  Luckily, we were correct!  I had a baja-style fish taco (similar to Rubio’s or Wahoo’s, for you Californians) and a potato and chorizo taco. 

 

my-tacos

 

The fish taco was my favorite, even though the sauce was a little sweet.  The potato chorizo combination was a bit too sweet, as well, and didn’t taste like the chorizo I’m used to.  I would, however, still highly recommend Taco Boy if you’re ever in the area!

 

Husband loved his tacos, too – he got a grilled fish taco and a carnitas taco.

 

tommy-tacos1

 

The kids ate rice and beans…

 

kids-food

 

…and really enjoyed them.

 

simon-stuffing-face

 

It’s so nice to get away, even if it’s just for a weekend.

3 responses to “Charleston

  1. Looks like his grandpa Payne. Glad you guys were able to get away and have some fun!

  2. your children are so beautiful!! an so are the pics f charleston…i would love to see spanish moss one day..

  3. Thank you for writing kindly of our beloved Charleston! Your pictures are divine. I laughed so hard at the aftermath of “the rice and beans” that tears popped out!

    Indeed your children are gorgeous, and so is your writing, “Mom.”

    I really appreciate the first great image where you describe the “intricate wrought iron ornamentation” – we just call it “iron lace”.

    Charleston was once the seat of great oppression for both minorities and women – but the Charleston of today is what WE make of it – one of the most progressive cities in the southeast.

    I was raised here, traveled abroad to many, many places, and decided to come home to stay.

    I love Charleston, and I adore sharing it with others. Please make sure you come back and visit us again.

    I hope we never lose our Southern Hospitality – that’s what makes us unique.

    I will have to come find you on Twitter – I like what you write about, but then, I am rather partial, Y’all. (lol)

    Have a super great holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

