Roasted Cauliflower with Lemon and Pepper

cauli-cu

 

Brussels sprouts, sweet potatoes, you name it – just about any vegetable is great roasted.  In The Art of Simple Food, Alice Waters sings the praises of roasted vegetables when she explains her guests’ astonishment that all she did was “toss them with a bit of oil and salt and throw them in the oven.”

 

A couple years ago, Husband and I ate dinner at some friends’ house we had just met (shout out to JW!).  I was pregnant with my son, and they made Indian food – a reliable indicator that we would get along well.  Roasted cauliflower was one of the side dishes, and it made such an impression that now my preferred method of preparing cauliflower is roasting.  I wish I could remember how theirs was seasoned, but (unfortunately) the pregnancy fog takes over from there.  Some kind of curry?  I wonder if she remembers. J

 

I usually go Alice Waters’ route when roasting vegetables – tossing them in olive oil and seasoning with sea salt.  Really, it’s a foolproof method for veggie success.  Tonight I mixed things up a bit with fresh lemon and pepper, but this is still so simple that I shouldn’t even be calling it a recipe.  If you try it, though, you will enjoy it.  Because roasting is the formula for gustatory awesomeness.

 

Roasted Cauliflower with Lemon and Pepper

 

1 head of cauliflower, washed

Olive oil to coat

Lemon wedges

Freshly ground pepper

Sea salt

 

1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Chop the cauliflower into equal bite-sized pieces and place in a bowl.  Toss in enough olive oil to coat, but not so much that it pools up at the bottom.  Squeeze a couple of lemon wedges on the cauliflower, add in some freshly ground pepper and sea salt to taste, and toss again.

 

2. Spread the cauliflower out on a baking sheet and roast until the edges start browning (20 minutes? I’m terrible about timing).

 

3.  Serve as a side dish with salmon and millet pilaf if your toddler doesn’t eat it all first!

 

cauli-w-dinner

 

Part of Fight Back Fridays and the Grocery Cart Challenge Recipe Swap.

10 responses to “Roasted Cauliflower with Lemon and Pepper

  1. At last! A basic roasted vegetable recipe. I can’t wait to try this. I love cauliflower, and even if my kids don’t, I could always puree these leftovers and make a soup. Or as my annoying South Beach diet friends do, use them in place of mashed potatoes in a shepherd’s pie.

  2. Yum, looks so much better than that old slimy, steamed stuff you usually see. I’m not a big fan of cauliflower, but I know roasting usually brings out hidden sweetness in veggies. I’ll have to give this a try, thanks!

  3. Oooh, that looks so yummy! What a great way to add some *yummy* veggies to your meal! Thanks for sharing.

  4. I often feel like that when I “cook.” So much food preparation is really so simple that it hardly seems like it can be called a recipe. This looks yummy, and I have some cauliflower to use up.

    Thanks for joining in the fun at Fight Back Friday today! I really enjoyed your entry.

    Cheers,
    KristenM
    (AKA FoodRenegade)

  5. Looking back I can’t believe we fed you guys Indian food without even knowing you. So glad that worked out well! Usually I roast cauliflower with oil, salt, turmeric, and whole cumin or black mustard seeds. Maybe a sliced onion too.It even does well with frozen cauliflower. The lemon treatment sounds good too…I’ll have to try that.

  6. Looks good! Roasting veggies is my new favorite thing. You have got to try the roasted kale. Same simple recipe and oh so yummy. Did the kids like the cauliflower?

  7. The kids LOVED it! And yes, I”ll have to try out the kale.

  8. that looks good- I like the addition of lemon. We had roasted veggies and french lentils for dinner tonight. my son loves cauliflower- i can’t wait to roast some again. Your garden looks really nice to btw. I wish it would warm up a bit here so I can get utside…

  9. This is an excellent idea…

    NAOmni

  10. you should find a recipe for aloo gobi, its an indian cauliflower thing. my favorite. then tell me how its made so i dont have to order take out so much! lol

Leave a Reply

