Date Night in Decatur

Food and literature are my two favorite things – so tonight’s date with Husband connected a bit of both.  Who am I kidding: every date involves both.

 

First, we visited the Dekalb Farmers Market – home to just about any edible you can think of.  It’s not a true farmers market, but more of a huge international grocery store where things like split peas and buckwheat flour can be purchased inexpensively in bulk.  They also have the cheapest price on SAF yeast.  My husband is also interested in food, so I promise this was fun for him – though he was more into the beer and fresh seafood.  And the chocolate stout cheese, of course.

 

For dinner, we ate at Cakes & Ale, a little restaurant that uses fresh, local (as much as possible), sustainable ingredients.  I could only take one picture before it got too dark, so here’s one of the arancini we started off with:

 

arancini

 

These arancini are little balls of fried risotto and sheep’s milk cheese with fennel pollen in the breading.  There’s a better picture on the website, though.

 

They also have some bottled Maine Root sodas made with fair trade cane sugar.  Not local, but the orange soda was awesome.

 

Afterwards, we found the book that tied the evening up quite nicely:

 

cakesandale

 

I really can’t wait to read it, since Somerset Maugham’s Of Human Bondage is one of my all-time favorite books.  Supposedly, Cakes and Ale makes very overt jabs at Thomas Hardy and Hugh Walpole (two of his contemporaries).  I’m a huge Thomas Hardy fan, so I can’t wait to see what all the fuss is about!

2 responses to “Date Night in Decatur

  1. Yummy =) My valentines date included frosties and Borders, and it was way better than sitting in a crowded restaurant!

    Your pictures are looking a little fuzzy…hope that camera isn’t flaking out on you!

  2. No, that’s not the camera — I had the flash off because I didn’t want to call attention to myself. We were sitting by the window, and the sun was ready to go down. I should’ve just swallowed my embarrassment and taken some pictures!

Leave a Reply

