Seafood Hates Me, aka, the Coconut Shrimp Post

coconut-shrimp

Let me just get this out of the way at the beginning: dinner sucked.  It’s completely my fault because I’ve only eaten shrimp maybe three or four times before, but I thought coconut shrimp would appeal to me because of the coconut factor. 

 

Many things went wrong: I bought pre-cooked, frozen shrimp from Trader Joe’s (and didn’t read the package well enough to see that it was pre-cooked), my “breading” (dredging in egg and unsweetened coconut flakes) didn’t stick, the sauce was weird (too many things wrong to list), and I accidently overcooked my stir-fried veggies.  I can manage cooking filleted fish, but next time we try shrimp, Husband will cook.  I’m certain, however, that my dislike of shrimp remains.

 

So I’m sorry if I got anyone’s hopes up!  If it’s any consolation, let me list some of the recipes I looked at as research for this project.  I would ask for suggestions, but I don’t feel the need to make shrimp again anytime soon.

 

Coconut Lime Shrimp from Simply Coconut (probably should have just gone this route)

Coconut Shrimp I from Allrecipes

Bobby Flay’s Coconut Shrimp

 

On a more positive note, I’m having so much fun experimenting with sprouting.  I can’t wait to try my sprouted lentils!

4 responses to “Seafood Hates Me, aka, the Coconut Shrimp Post

  1. so sorry there! Seafood hates me too- or at least just makes my throat swell shut! so I’m off the hook when it comes to fixing those disgusting little creatures:)

  2. I knew nothing of this Mountain Dew thing! Maybe I need to watch more tv…anyways, I don’t know how this escaped my attention, but I found it very…interesting I guess for lack of a better word.

    I’m still getting the hang of twittering, but I find it amusing.

    And my sister’s boyfriend’s sister…so my sister’s future sister in law, probably, is moving to ATL, so you never know…

    NAOmni

  3. I’m digging the new layout.

  4. I’m sorry seafood hates you! We love shrimp…even coconut shrimp. Looks like you did a good job anyway.

Leave a Reply

