This Week In My Kitchen

It’s been a crazy week, but I still have a few things to add to my recipe journal.  By the way, does anyone else keep a journal of their experiences with recipes/ingredients/cooking methods/etc.?  It really helps when you’re trying to tweak recipes or just plain remember what works for you.  I’m terrible at remembering anything, so I have to write EVERYTHING down.  Everything!  I also like to cross things off of lists, but that’s another story.  So back to the food…

 

I (reluctantly) made Italian Wedding Soup on Wednesday, even though I thought I totally wasn’t in the mood for it.  Mine is pretty standard, as far as Italian Wedding Soups go – sauté some onions and garlic in a bit of olive oil, then add broth, some Italian herbs, a leafy green (this time, spinach), orzo, and homemade meatballs.  I really wasn’t in the mood for the pasta (I never am; is it odd to not like pasta?), so I left it out.  What was left was a brothy, spinachy soup with meatballs. 

 

wedding-soup

 

Not too exciting, but the kids and I ate most of it before Husband got home.  I think my immune system is controlling my appetite, because I just want to eat brothy foods all the time.  Or maybe it’s the weather?

 

I also sprouted some chickpeas and made this raw hummus (except I add a bunch of cumin and a few pinches of paprika): 

 

sprouted-chickpeas

 

I actually tried it two weeks ago and forgot a crucial step, so it was worse than disgusting.  Today, though, it turned out wonderfully! 

 

raw-hummus

 

I don’t notice a taste difference between the regular and the sprouted hummus, but the superior nutrition is enough to make me want to continue making it this way.  This has also given me the sprouting bug, so lentils will be my next sprouting project.

 

I haven’t gotten around to making the quinoa tabbouleh (or switching up the couscous to quinoa in my Chicken Couscous Salad), so that will have to wait until next week.  I did, however, make an awesome Mexican-style Quinoa (thanks for the nudge, Jo!) and re-read my friend Heidi’s great post on quinoa.  I thought I had pictures of it, but all I could find was a picture of the honey-sweetened millet I made earlier this week:

 

millet-with-honey

Yes, I take pictures of all the food I eat; doesn't everybody?

 

No coconut shrimp yet, either…I’m trying to concoct a soy-free hoisin-type sauce, but no luck yet.  Any suggestions are welcomed, as we try to avoid evil soy.  Some kind of dipping sauce is essential, since I really don’t like shrimp (it’s in the edible, but not preferable box in my brain) and the dinner (coconut-fried shrimp, sauteed vegetables, and rice or millet) seems like it would be a bit dry without one.  Sauce or not, we’ll eat this on Monday.

 

Hope you had a great week!

5 responses to “This Week In My Kitchen

  1. from what I know Eden brand soy is A okay- it is an aged soy.

  2. I’m terrible at remembering things..
    But that is what post-its are for!

  3. I can’t have ANY soy because of allergies! Not even the fermented stuff. So I’m thinking of upping the salt for my sauce.

  4. Ohhhh! That bites. Sorry I didn’t realize that. How about a delicious orange sauce? Or maybe a sweet red chili garlic sauce? I can’t eat shrimp- allergic. So maybe my suggestions sound way off…

  5. I’m having my favorite hummus ever tonight!

    Also, I have a twitter….I got one just in case but The Fat Dietitian and I have been debating if we should actually use it or now….so I guess I’ll try using it for a little bit. How do I find you guys to check it out and not be like…the floating twitter loner?

Leave a Reply

