Chocolate Chili: Second Attempt

choc-chili

 

Our first attempt was this recipe, which was totally inedible to us.  But now, Husband and I have come to the consensus that we just don’t like chocolate in our chili.  The recipe we tried tonight was from my friend Heidi, who is an excellent cook, so at least we could eat our dinner this time.  The complex sweetness of the cocoa and molasses is countered a bit by the chili powder and other savory flavors, so I’m sure there are others out there who would enjoy this.  For instance, if you like the Mexican dish mole, you would really enjoy this chili.  (We’re not into mole!  But I know lots of people who are.)

 

Here is Heidi’s recipe; we used a pound of dried beans (mixture of pinto, black, and kidney instead of canned beans:

 

Vegan Chocolate Chili

 

¼ cup olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

1 red bell pepper

1 green bell pepper

5 cloves garlic, crushed

2 tablespoons chili power

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon cumin

1 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes

1 14 ounce can of tomatoes with green chiles, or tomatoes with jalapenos if you want it spicier

3 tablespoons molasses

3 tablespoons of cocoa powder

2 14 ounce cans of kidney beans

1 14 ounce can of pinto beans

1 14 ounce can of black beans

 

Sauté the onions and peppers in the olive oil in a large pot, covered on low-medium for about 10 minutes or until a bit soft and browned.  Add the garlic and sauté for another 5 minutes.  Add the spices and cook for another minute then add the tomatoes, molasses, cocoa powder, and beans and cook on low-medium heat for about 20 minutes.  If it looks too thick you can add a can of tomato sauce or some water. Turn off heat and serve after about 10 minutes.

3 responses to “Chocolate Chili: Second Attempt

  1. I have no problem with chocolate and spice, but the molasses kind of throws me off. Interesting dish.

  2. I’ll eat chocolate and chili any day. Yummmmm!

  3. Oh my gosh, I saw that oreo picture on another blog today and was thinking about posting it on mine! I’m glad you have lead me to the source. I’m not too keen on like “mega whopper delux with a rib on top burger” or anything, but I love stuff like that crazy oreo…

    I wonder what blog I saw it on…maybe Serious Eats…

    I use too many…

    sigh

Leave a Reply

