Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

pumpkin-choc-cookies

 

I’d never heard of these cookies until I moved to the South three years ago, and I’ve been hooked ever since the first one.  They’re typically very sweet and cakey, but I’ve been trying to cut back on the sugar consumption, so I made this version using natural sweeteners and less sugar overall.  The dough itself is not as sweet as other pumpkin chocolate chip cookie recipes, but it works well in satisfying my omnipresent chocolate cravings.  I still have lots of pumpkin on hand, so I’ve been looking for creative ways to use it!

 

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

1 cup pureed pumpkin

½ cup sucanat

3 tbsp. maple syrup

½ cup butter, softened

1 tbsp. vanilla extract

1 egg, whisked

2 cups whole wheat flour (I used home-milled flour)

1 tbsp. ground flax meal (for added nutrition; can be omitted)

2 tsp baking powder

1 ¼ tsp. baking soda

1 tbsp ground cinnamon

½ tsp. salt

Chocolate chips (I use a lot in this recipe, since the dough isn’t as sweet)

 

1.  Combine pumpkin, sucanat, maple syrup, butter, vanilla, and egg in a bowl.  In a separate bowl, combine remaining ingredients (except for chocolate chips).  Combine wet and dry ingredients, then mix in desired amount of chocolate chips.

 

2.  Bake in an oven preheated to 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.  You want them to be firm to the touch but with some springiness, like a quick bread.  Since these have the texture of a biscuit or muffin, they won’t be as crisp as a traditional chocolate chip cookie.

 

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. What kind of grain mill do you have? I am going to purchase one soon and I am curious about what others use and how they like dilike their purchase. Oh, and the cookies look fantastic!

  2. A friend and I went in together on the bread-making, so she bought a Nutrimill and I bought a Bosch Universal mixer. Pleasant Hill Grain has a deal where it’s cheaper if you buy the two together, so that’s what we did. We searched everywhere for the best price, and ordering from the Pleasant Hill Grain website was the best. Everyone I know with a grain mill seems to have the Nutrimill, so I can’t provide much comparison, but it does the job for us!

  3. how did that taste with flax? Can you taste it in the cookie?

  4. The cookie itself is not as sweet as other cookies (I did that intentionally), but it doesn’t taste particularly flaxy. The flax was actually an afterthought — I figured, why not just throw some in? If you want to make this the normal sweet way, let me know and I’ll email you the recipe.

Leave a Reply

