Menu Plan Monday: February 9, 2009

I’m going to stop assigning a specific day to each of the meals and just list them instead.  This makes more sense, since I end up switching some of them around anyway.  So here’s what’s on the menu:

 

Chocolate chili and cornbread (recipes to come)

Chicken fajitas, pinto beans, Mexican rice

Coconut shrimp (recipe forthcoming), stir-fried veggies, rice

Sprouted hummus, quinoa tabbouleh, pita, raw veggies

Italian wedding soup (recipe forthcoming)

Black-eyed pea soup (didn’t get to last week)

Burgers and sweet potato fries

 

Looking forward to the warmer weather this week!  These are all easy meals so I’ll have more time to get myself and the kids outside.  I can’t wait until winter is behind us!

 

For more menu plans, visit Organizing Junkie.

9 responses to “Menu Plan Monday: February 9, 2009

  1. Can you let me know how the sprouted hummus goes- I sprouted my chick peas for it and once they started sprouting they smelled so DISGUSTING that I threw them out. I do my planning the same way- I just create a list of things to fix and chose them along the way-works better for me that way..

  2. I actually tried sprouting chick peas two weeks ago (for this same recipe) and they didn’t smell bad or anything, but then I skipped the “essential” step of sticking them in boiling water momentarily and the hummus tasted DISGUSTING. So I will attempt to follow the directions this time! No fun wasting expensive tahini. 🙂

  3. Do you make your tabbouleh the same as you would with bulghur but with quinoa instead?

  4. Hey, if you want to try a different take on Mexican Rice, try making it with quinoa instead – it is so good! You just toast the quinoa in a dry pan until starting to brown and pop, then put aside, and go on with the recipe as usual, just adding a little more liquid though. (Double the amount of quinoa.) I also like to add some sun-dried tomato strips. Yum.

  5. Hey, if you want to try something different, try making Mexican Rice with quinoa! It’s so good. (See my site for details.) Jo.

  6. Looking forward to the Chocolate Chili Recipe! Jo.

  7. Mub,

    I’ve never made tabbouleh with quinoa, but my plan is just to keep the recipe the same and switch the grains. I’ve seen some quinoa tabbouleh recipes online (I know there’s one on Allrecipes, for instance), so it seems like it would be easy to do. I’ll keep you posted on how it works!

  8. Jo,

    Thanks for the tip on the Mexican rice! I’ve been playing around with recipes, trying to find something I like — we’re used to Rice-a-Roni, but we’re trying to phase out the processed food in favor of more traditional methods. Will definitely try it with quinoa sometime!

    And I’ll post tonight about the chocolate chili. 🙂

  9. I’ll be back for the coconut shrimp recipe. I LOVE coconut! I saw your link on organizing junkies site. I’d never heard of quinoa tabbouleh before, so I checked it out on recipeczar and it looks great! Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

