Another (Crappy) Health Update

I’m so sick of telling people that I’m sick.  Really, how many infections are normal in the course of a year?  My sinuses have always hated me, but it appears the tonsils have joined in.  I have a non-strep pus pocket on my tonsils for the second time in just over a month.  They say it will go away with a course of antibiotics, but I have my doubts.  The alternative is getting my tonsils removed, which isn’t much of an alternative.

 

Actually, I’m pretty sure I know why I get sick so often.  Even though I eat well for meals, I have an evil sweet tooth.  Sugar is a known immune suppressant and even considered by some to be a drug.  My biggest crutch is chocolate milk – something I’ve been writing off as semi-healthy (don’t laugh!) – since it can be made with real milk and homemade chocolate syrup.  This would be true if I had a glass, say, once a month, but I have anywhere between one and three glasses per day.  Now that I’ve uncloseted my addiction, it’s time to do something about it.

 

I cannot continue consuming sugar like this.  I’ve even tried switching things up by buying bars of dark chocolate, but I have no willpower, and I end up eating half the bar instead of the two bites I allow myself.  I don’t eat a lot of refined sugar, so switching to only unrefined sugar is not an option.  Sugar itself is the problem.

 

In addition to being prone to infection, I have a history of grand-mal seizures that are unrelated to epilepsy.  We haven’t figured out exactly what triggers them, but low blood sugar (from forgetting to eat) seems to be connected.  Often, I skip a meal because I’m busy, only to “make up for it” by drinking chocolate milk.

 

And how timely is this – Scott at Modern Forager posted this today about repairing years of damage your immune system.  The only thing I seem to be doing wrong is eating sugar!  Somehow I am not overweight, but that only makes my problem worse.  I think a lot of people think that as long as they’re not fat, then they’re healthy.  Weight is only one indicator of health, however, and can sometimes be very misleading.

 

There is not an easy solution for me.  I’ve been trying to cut back on the chocolate milk for some time, but I really do believe that sugar acts like a drug.  Luckily, I have no desire at the moment to consume sugar, but that can always change.  I think it would be beneficial for me to limit my grains, too, but I’ll explore that later.  For now, I just want to heal.

5 responses to “Another (Crappy) Health Update

  1. Try Little Sugar Addicts by Kathleen DesMaisons. It is supposed to be how to get your kids off sugar, but I think it works as well for adults. She has another she wrote specifically for adults, Potatoes not Prozac, but it has too many carbohydrates for me.

  2. Unfortunately, I do not have any immediate suggestions. I always feel best when I cut out caffeine, but I still keep it in. That’s probably not too helpful though. Anywho, I do hope you get to feeling better and I’m interested to learn and hear about your diet changes and decisions, whatever they might be.

    NAOmni

  3. Janet: thanks so much for the book recommendations — I’m going to search for them online right now at my library!

    NAOmni: I’ve actually been off caffeine for quite awhile, which strangely enough has been a big boost to my energy levels! I wake up so much more easily now. And of course, I’ll keep everyone posted on the dietary changes!

  4. I’m sorry to here you’re feeling bad. I hear you on the sugar thing. I am crazy about sweets. After my last baby I went cold turkey- To feed my craving I would read recipes and look at pictures- the funny thing was that it wasn’t torture- it actually helped curb the cravings.I never thought about the fact that sugar supresses the immune system. Thanks for the info

  5. Girl you need to work out. I rarely get sick and I eat a lot of crappy food and I’m the heaviest I’ve ever been–you know riding that line between thick and fat. But, I think I’m healthy because I really do try to work out at least 3 days a week. My blood pressure is perfect. Oh, and sleep. Make sure you are getting it.

Leave a Reply

