Unclaimed Baggage

In spite of my lagging health, we decided to take a short road trip today.  Destination: Scottsboro, Alabama.  More specifically: Unclaimed Baggage.

 

We’ve heard mixed reports on this middle-of-nowhere shopping destination – basically, it’s a large thrift store that acquires its goods from – yep, you guessed it – unclaimed baggage from airports.  There are many reasons why this is cool: yes, a lot of it is used, but there are lots of items with the original tags still intact.  Since this isn’t stuff people wanted to get rid of, you can find a lot of high-end items, like designer jeans and shoes, plus lots of good books and cds.  We came home with a bunch of clothes, some books, and some cds – most notably, a hardcover of Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and a Neutral Milk Hotel cd.

 

I’m still not feeling great, so I’m trying to keep myself nourished, hydrated, and rested.  That means it’s off to bed now for me…

 

 

3 responses to “Unclaimed Baggage

  1. my boyfriend met Diaz and is so obsessed with him a picture of the two of them now serves as my boyfriends facebook profile picture. Oh literary nerds, how I do adore.

    Trip sounds like fun

    NAOmni

  2. Really?! Where did he meet him? I’m a lit nerd, too, but I’ve never read any of his stuff. My husband read Oscar Wao and was really impressed, so he would think that was really cool!

  3. He goes to MIT up in Boston and Diaz is actually a teacher there. He was so excited. The picture is absolutely adorable!

    NAOmni

Leave a Reply

