White Chili

I used to make this with chicken, but it’s really not necessary if you’re using real chicken bone broth (or any homemade broth, for that matter).  It’s dairy-free (for my daughter’s sake), full of folate and iron, and super frugal!  Easy, too.

 

White Chili

smooth-white-chili1

 

2 tbsp olive oil

1 small onion, diced

½ – 1 cup green chilis, diced

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp pepper, freshly ground

2-3 cloves garlic, minced

2 quarts chicken broth

3 cups white beans, rinsed and soaked overnight (I soaked mine for 24 hours.)

 

1.     In a stockpot, heat olive oil on medium heat.  When hot, add onion and green chilis.  Sauté until onion starts to caramelize, then add cumin, pepper, and garlic.  Sauté two minutes more.

 

2.     Add the broth and bring to a boil, then add beans.  Let it cook at a slow boil until the beans have softened, then use a stick blender to puree some of the beans.  This will give the soup a creamy texture, but don’t puree the whole thing (like I did tonight! oops!) – you’ll still want to see some whole beans.

 

Right now you’re thinking, “This sounds similar to your Split Pea Soup recipe from Sunday.”  And you’re correct – you’ve discovered just how uncreative I am when it comes to making simple bean soups.  They’re all very tasty, though, and I prefer to call it a template.  Templates save time, and if I can find a way to simplify my dinner routine and still make real food, then I feel good about it.

 

I served cornbread with this tonight, but fresh chips and salsa would be the best accompaniment.

 

Part of the Real Food Wednesday blog carnival hosted by Cheeseslave and the Grocery Cart Challenge Recipe Swap.

9 responses to “White Chili

  1. catholicmommybrain

    That looks great! I’m so excited about this blog carnival 🙂 I need all the help I can get.

  2. YUUUUUMMMM! I lurvve chili! We eat it all the time. I have made “white chili once. I must say it can be eaiser on the digestive system. Ours had apples and chicken.

  3. Hi Stacey,

    Don’t you love how easy & nutritious this recipe is?! 🙂 That cornbread looks so good!

    Kelly

  4. Vehement Flame: I’ll definitely have to try it with chicken and apples! Such a great way to add seasonal flair, too.

  5. I can vouch for this one. It smelled DELICIOUS! it almost turned me on to chili, almost.

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: March 9, 2009 « Mom Must Write

  7. Pingback: Menu Plan: Week of April 20, 2009 « Mom Must Write

  8. Pingback: Menu Plan: Week of April 27 « Mom Must Write

  9. Pingback: Bean Prep: Sorting and Rinsing « Mom Must Write

Leave a Reply

