PB&J is Okay

It’s been an exhausting day – my son has an ear infection, and my daughter has been in a terrible mood.  Husband has school on Wednesday nights, so he wasn’t going to be home until time for the kids to go to bed.  Typically, this is the set-up for me choosing to go out to eat.  Why should I cook with a sick child on one hip while fighting the other’s temper tantrums? 

 

Somehow, I fought the urge.  I opted to eat at home, but I didn’t make the Asian Chicken Salad.  We ate sandwiches with peanut butter and pumpkin butter, steamed cauliflower, and tangerines – lunch food!  It was pretty nourishing, though – the bread is homemade from freshly-milled wheat, the peanut butter is natural, and the head of cauliflower was fresh, in contrast to those frozen bags of veggies with synthetic cheese topping.  The tangerines are from only one state away, which I think is pretty good for winter in the Southeast.

 

I’m going to bed early tonight, since I have a scratchy throat and a strange feeling in my ears.  Here are two food-related thoughts for the day:

 

1)   This one is not-so-important: did you know that the fibers in coconut husks are being used in some creative ways?  Check out Sustainablog’s report on how they’re being used to craft car parts in developing countries.  Oops — I forgot to link that up last night. Sorry.

 

2)   This one is VERY important: raw milk still needs your help!  Please go to http://www.change.org/ideas/view/legalize_milk and cast your vote to legalize raw milk all over the United States.  This is the second (and final) round, so if you voted in the first round, your vote is still needed in the second round to keep it in the top ten.  The last day to do this is Thursday, so please do it right now!  And if you’re in Connecticut, there’s a blog dedicated to this issue for your state here.

 

Cheers…

2 responses to “PB&J is Okay

  1. Hi! I lik eyour blog – you have some YUMMY recipes posted!! I’m putting up the Balsamic White Beans & Turkey sausage recipe you wanted tomorrow. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. I love your blog, don’t ever stop! That way we can keep up on what’s going on in the Jolley house. I have a good spanish rice recipe. I’ll email it to, and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

