Easy Split Pea Soup

My first split pea soup recipe came from Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone, but I’ve made so many changes from my own experience and from similar recipes that I feel like this one is my own.  Not that this one is overly elaborate, but this seems to be the magic formula for us.  I hope you enjoy it, too!

 

Easy Split Pea Soup

 

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 small onion, diced

3 carrots, chopped

1 celery rib, chopped

Salt, pepper, marjoram, thyme, parsley, and paprika – all to taste

2-3 cloves of garlic, minced

2 quarts bone broth (I used one made from my pork roast last week, but I usually use chicken broth. Vegetable stock could also be used.)

1 lb. dry split peas, sorted and rinsed

 

1.     In a dutch oven, heat the olive oil at medium heat.  You want the oil to be hot enough that when you drop a piece of onion in, it sizzles, but not so hot that it’s starting to smoke.  When the oil is hot, add the onion, carrots, and celery.  Saute until it starts caramelizing, then add the spices and the garlic.  (NEVER add garlic at the beginning, as it can burn.)  Saute for another two minutes.

 

2.     Add the broth and bring to a boil, then add the split peas.  Let it cook at a slow boil until a split pea tested is tender and not too starchy (? not sure how to better describe this).  When the peas are tender enough, use a stick blender to make the soup smooth.  (A regular blender will work, too, but make sure you cool the soup before putting it in or it will explode. That’s not based on experience or anything. 🙂

 

This is about four servings – it fed my family of four, anyway, with enough leftover for Husband’s lunch.  Also, I don’t soak my split peas like I would other things because they are low in phytic acid.  You can add croutons (Deborah Madison’s suggestion), serve with some kind of bread, or just add a green salad.  I hope you enjoy it!

5 responses to “Easy Split Pea Soup

  1. I love split pea soup! I might make some next week. I have a couple of ham hocks in the freezer just waitin gfor me to do something with them. 😀

  2. It tastes sooo good with ham hocks, but I haven’t been able to afford ham lately! Husband keeps asking for it, though, so maybe one of these days…

  3. Looks amazing! I’ve been checking out crockpot365 like you recommended and it’s pretty great!

    NAOmni

  4. That’s really interesting! With all the nutrition classes I’ve had I still don’t remember really learning about phytic acid…I’ll have to look into it…

    In the meantime…fiiine, I will continue to soak beans. But I do so angrily. Much like I am when chopping carrots in my small crowded cutting board lite kitchen.

    NAOmni

  5. Pingback: White Chili « Mom Must Write

Leave a Reply

