Chuck Roast with Mushrooms and Bacon

Yes, you’re right, we were supposed to have Swiss Steak tonight – but I forgot to buy an extra bell pepper from Whole Foods (the only place with semi-local bells this time of year), and I just happened to buy too many mushrooms for last night’s spaghetti, so this is what we ended up with.  Husband wasn’t the least bit unhappy, since this resembles his favorite dish at a local restaurant.

 

In a stainless steel sauté pan, I placed:

 

         a 1.25 lb. chuck blade roast, seasoned with salt, pepper, and sage

         1 tbsp olive oil

         enough water to braise the meat(but not too much to steam or boil it)

         more salt, pepper, and sage

         sliced white mushrooms (the generic white ones from the produce department, which I bought whole and sliced myself – you could use something fancier)

 

chuck

 

This braised on top of the stove for about two hours, but this would cook well in a Crock Pot, too, or even in the oven, but I’m making an oven roast tomorrow, so I thought I’d mix it up a bit.  And since Swiss Steak is a stove top sort of meal, I was already in that frame of mind.  So there!

 

In a separate pan, about half an hour before the meat finished, I cooked four slices of bacon.  When the bacon was done, I removed it from the pan and added some kale to sauté in the drippings.  (Can you tell we live in the South?)  I crumbled the bacon to add to the steak and mushrooms on the plates.

 

I still served mashed potatoes and gravy with it, but I made the gravy out of the leftover braise juice and cornstarch.  I’m still a novice gravy maker, so it wasn’t quite thick enough.  A little more cornstarch or flour would’ve probably helped.

 

chuck-roast-with-bacon-and-mushrooms

 

Overall, this was a little greasy, but we’ll definitely do something like this again.  Mainly, I need to work on my gravy skills!  Any suggestions?

One response to “Chuck Roast with Mushrooms and Bacon

  1. This looks really good. I am going to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

