Mid-Week Dinner Narratives

I’ve been trying to get back into talking about our meals, but this week just hasn’t been very exciting in the kitchen.  Here’s a recap, anyway, just for accountability’s sake:

 

We ended up having the White Chili on Monday, since we ate out for lunch earlier that day (Simon had his 1-year-old well visit!).  I rarely make things the same way twice, so this time around, I just sautéed some onion, garlic, diced green chiles, cumin, salt, and pepper in some olive oil, then added some chicken broth I had stored in my freezer.  I omitted the grilled chicken and just added cannellini beans to make the base.  After the beans were finished cooking, I used my immersion blender to puree some of it in the pot, then served it with a salad (no cornbread – I forgot – so we had my whole wheat bread with it instead).  My daughter ate her first soup and salad course, and then went on to eat two more salads.  She really amazes us sometimes!

 

Tuesday was taco night, because Husband picked up some carnitas that just had to be used by that day.  So I cooked up a batch of pinto beans in the crock pot, some brown rice with tomatoes in the rice cooker, and we made burritos (I had three flour tortillas to use up) and tacos.

 

We were gone all day Wednesday visiting various friends and family, but we spent all day today at home (and mostly doing nothing) and had leftovers for dinner.  Tomorrow I’m making orange chicken – I even remembered to put the chicken in the refrigerator to thaw, so hopefully things are looking up for my productivity level.

Leave a Reply

