Menu Plan Monday: December 29, 2008

I have so much food leftover from last week that I’ll probably get away with spending less than $20 on food for this week.  Yay!  So with that in mind, here’s what we’ll be having:

 

Monday: Orange Chicken (add broccoli, plus I have other variations) on brown rice

 

Tuesday: Swiss Steak with mashed potatoes

 

Wednesday: Eating out with friends/New Years Eve Party

 

Thursday: Tacos, pinto beans, rice

 

Friday: Ahi tuna steaks, sweet potato fries, sauteed chard (didn’t get around to it last week)

 

Saturday: White Chicken Chili, cornbread (again, didn’t get around to it last week!)

 

Sunday: DIY/leftovers

 

For more menu planning ideas, visit Organizing Junkie.

4 responses to “Menu Plan Monday: December 29, 2008

  1. Everything sounds great!

  2. How do you prepare your Swiss Chard?

  3. Hi Rona,

    The chard can be steamed, but the way I fix it (and what I think is the best way) is to saute it by wilting it in the pan (the way you would do spinach). Just chop it up into bite-sized pieces and cook it in a pan with 1-2 tbsp olive oil, minced garlic, and salt (I like sea salt). It doesn’t take long, but I turn it over with tongs while it’s cooking to evenly distribute the oil. When I’m not turning it over, I put a lid on the pan to help it cook faster, but I like mine to have a bit of crunch to it, so I just start testing pieces after a few minutes to see if it’s to my liking.

    If you try it this way, let me know! Trader Joe’s has a bag of prewashed/precut chard that makes a great quick side dish if you don’t want to do the prep. If you have leftovers, it goes well with a bowl of black beans and leftover roasted sweet potatoes…two other things we tend to have leftovers of.

    🙂

  4. Thanks for stopping by. Our venison was hunted. In years past we have made jerky with it. Last year we paid to have it processed and we were not impressed with how it turned out so we decided to save the money and do it ourselves. We ground most of it and did a blend with pork. That has been wonderful. My husband cut some small steaks but I did not like them. I tasted too much meat. I’m more of a pork or chicken person, so I’m a bit nervous for this roast. It is the one and only that we cut but I will definitely let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

