Menu Plan Monday: November 17, 2008

mpmfall2

 

It’s yet another week of belt-tightening; by the time we bought a few (essential!) items at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods, I realized I only had $27 left over for the week’s gas and groceries.  To thicken the plot, I’m supposed to bring a meal to a family with a new baby on Tuesday.  Well, I’m always looking for a challenge!  Here’s what we have planned:

 

Monday: Enchiladas (bean or chicken — cheese optional), rice, radish salad

 

Tuesday: My Spaghetti, salad, Italian bread (make double for sharing)

 

Wednesday: Ahi steaks, quinoa pumpkin pilaf, braised turnips

 

Thursday: Buckwheat pancakes, blueberries (in freezer from summer picking!), sausage

 

Friday: Lentil soup, braised cabbage

 

Saturday: Eat out before play (we’re seeing Aristophanes’ Lysistrata)

 

Sunday: Burgers, sauteed broccoli, fried potatoes

 

For more menu plans, visit Organizing Junkie.

 

For more veggie-ful menu plans, visit Geek, Poet, Housewife Wannabe.

4 responses to “Menu Plan Monday: November 17, 2008

  1. The quinoa pumpkin pilaf sounds great, Im always looking for good quinoa recipes. Ill google it!

  2. Mmm… quinoa pumpkin pilaf! Yum! And buckwheat pancakes with blueberries for dinner – I’m drooling! Sounds like you have a great week planned!

  3. I couldn’t find a recipe for the quinoa pumpkin pilaf…I’m just going to try and improvise something Whole Foods had at their salad bar a few weeks ago. They’re version may have had dried cranberries in it, too, but I think I’m out, so I’ll just make it without. I’ll keep you updated!

  4. Great Menu!! I’ve never had quinoa – I really should try some though!

Leave a Reply

