Mmm…Brussels Sprouts!

You know, Brussels sprouts really have a poor reputation.  This isn’t surprising, considering most people I know grew up eating them in their freezer-packaged, then steamed incarnation.  But I knew there had to be a better way.

 

I’ve been scouring my cookbooks and the web for different things to do with these tiny cabbage-looking things in preparation for my monthly food article (one of my two jobs).  For the December issue, I want to talk about choosing seasonal, local foods for Christmas dinner.  Asparagus, for example, shows up on many Christmas dinner menus, but it is way out of season for most of us at that time. 

 

I have found some great recipes for Brussels sprouts, though, including one where they are baked with bacon and apples.  For tonight’s dinner, I opted for a simpler dressing, since I wanted to taste the actual sprouts and not just some yummy toppings.  On a friend’s advice, I prepared them like this:

 

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Wash and dry the heads, then chop off the woody stem end.  Then cut them in half — this way, they cook a little better and are more bite-sized.

 

2) Toss the heads with some olive oil and sea salt (and pepper if you like, but I didn’t add any to mine tonight), then spread them out on a cookie sheet.  Bake until they start to brown.  (A picture should be inserted here, but I think it’s time to get a new camera.)

 

We served them with organic top sirloin steaks and rice for a simple and hearty meal.  Maybe next week I’ll try the recipe with bacon and apples!

3 responses to “Mmm…Brussels Sprouts!

  1. Sorry honey, those things are gross.

  2. P.S. I wanted to tell you about GOOP. I thought about blogging about it, but I just sort of not been feeling very bloggy. Gwyneth Paltrow has a newsletter that she sends out every week on one of the five things listed on her website. Recipes, fashion, health and just focusing on a better life. Its actually very good. I think you would like it. go to http://www.goop.com. If you aren’t sure, Ill forward you the link so you see what her newsletters are about.

  3. Pingback: Roasted Cauliflower with Lemon and Pepper « Mom Must Write

Leave a Reply

