A “Stop Doing” List?

I checked my Twitter feed (for the first time in awhile) today and came across something interesting from a California friend my husband and I hung out with last night.  He’s at a conference in Atlanta and simultaneously Twittering some of the highlights, one of which was about productivity:

 

“there’s infinite work, but finite time.” “create a stop doing list”

 

Of course, this goes completely against my typical busybodiness, but that’s probably a good thing. I have so much on my plate lately, but maybe some of those things are not worth my time and attention.  So here’s my impromptu “Stop Doing” List:

 

1) Stop trying to keep the house in show-ready condition all the time.

It’s not like our house is on the market right now (or any time in the foreseeable future, for that matter), but I have this annoying clean demon that lives inside of me and wants to sweep up every minute crumb in sight.  You would think that having two small children would’ve helped relax some of this by now, but it’s been programmed in my head since I was a kid (thanks, Mom and Grandma!) that cleanliness is the equivalent of godliness.  I know they meant well, but there’s more to life than housekeeping piety.

 

2) Assure myself that I don’t have to live 100% sustainably by tomorrow.

My mind tends to get overloaded with changing ten major things at once.  This week, it’s milling my own flour for breadmaking, finding alternatives to every single disposable item I use, declaring independence from breakfast cereal, and preparing my garden beds for spring.  (That wasn’t ten items, but I’m sure there’s more I’m not thinking about right now.)  Really, if I could just focus on one or two things at a time, I would get so much more done.  Multi-tasking is not always productive! 

 

3) [Stop worrying] about tomorrow…

…for tomorrow will care about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.  Matthew 6:34, anybody?

One response to “A “Stop Doing” List?

  1. I agree with #2, because I’m guilty of that myself, or I used to be…I was consumed with always trying to be a better person, then I realized that I’m awesome! But really, I just realized that I can only do one thing at a time, and I need to perfect that.

Leave a Reply

