A Bit of Earth

So I wanted to start gardening a few years ago to “simplify my life” and (theoretically) make myself less dependent on the oil vampire that is our global food economy.  I’ve had little success so far, but I’ve never had more than say, ten plants at a time, so I’m sure that’s part of it.  And if I don’t act now, my spring successes will never materialize, either.

 

From what I’ve learned about organic gardening (and according to the Peaceful Valley catalog), the best way to prepare my plot of earth for next spring’s plantings is to till it up NOW and plant a leguminous cover crop that will fix nitrogen into the soil.  In plainer English, this cover crop will act as a fertilizer or soil amender so I don’t have to apply a bunch of chemicals come planting time.

 

Sounds simple, right?  I’m sure it is, but I’m lazy.  I have so many excuses:

 

– I only own a hand tiller, so it will take forever to till. (Like it’s going to be any easier next spring?!)

 

– I have to spend money on seed.  (This probably wouldn’t be more than $10, tops).

 

– I don’t have a fence around my back yard… (I’m not sure why this has been an excuse, but it is.)

 

– I have so many more urgent items on my To Do List. (What, eating isn’t a priority?)

 

I could go on and on, but it makes no difference; I just need to get out there and do it. I was inspired today by this lettuce box at Hen and Harvest — wouldn’t it be great if I could at least have a little salad garden outside my kitchen door?  Of course, I don’t have the slightest idea how to execute such a project (even though they tell you how), so I doubt that will ever come to fruition, either.

3 responses to “A Bit of Earth

  1. I would love to have a garden, and one on my windsill too. Oh wait, I live in an apartment, can’t have anything.

  2. And every plant I touch dies.

  3. We’ll have to talk more about this.

Leave a Reply

