Yankee Cornbread (dairy-free)

When I moved to the south, I learned that how you like your cornbread reflects which side of the Mason-Dixon you’re from.  I’ve always thought of cornbread as sweet and cakey, but many southerners prefer theirs unsweetened and fried. 

 

Regardless of where your tastes lie, if you need a dairy-free cornbread, this is a good starting point.  It is quite crumbly, but tasty nonetheless.  If/when I figure out how to make it less crumblesome, I’ll gladly let you know – or perhaps you have some tips?  I’m going to try using some of the ingredients that I use as dough conditioners in my whole wheat bread, so I’ll update this if I find something that works!

 

Yankee Cornbread

 

1 cup flour (soft white or AP)

1 cup cornmeal

1/2-3/4 cup sucanat

1 tsp salt

3 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 egg, beaten

1 cup coconut milk (I use Whole Foods 365 organic – don’t shake it and use the creamier portion)

1/3 cup olive oil (to offset the coconut)

 

Combine all ingredients and bake 25 minutes at 400 in a greased/floured round pan.

 

Here’s a piece…

 

cornbread-slice

 

…just make sure to let it cool completely before cutting, or else it is especially crumblesome!

 

 

cb-cu

 

2 responses to “Yankee Cornbread (dairy-free)

  1. Yumm Yumm! Just had your DF cornbread and Baked Beans for dinner and it was very good!! Many Thanks! I wonder if soaking it would make it less crumbly?

  2. I hadn’t thought of that! But yes, I must try…

Leave a Reply

