Chicken Couscous Salad

chicken-couscous

 

This recipe, from my friend Jen, was inspired by a recipe she found in an old Cooking Light magazine.  It makes an excellent quick lunch or accompaniment to a Mediterranean feast of hummus, pita, and raw veggies.  Make a double or triple batch, because it goes quickly!

 

Salad:

 

1 ¼ cups chicken bone broth

6 ounces couscous (I’m substituting quinoa when I make it later this week)

1 ½ cups cooked chicken, shredded or cubed

½ cup sliced scallions

½ cup diced radishes

½ cup chopped, seeded cucumber

¼ cup chopped flat-leaf parsley

2 tablespoons toasted pine nuts

 

Dressing:

 

¼ cup rice vinegar

1 ½ tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon ground cumin

½ teaspoon finely ground sea salt

¼ teaspoon fresh ground pepper

3 minced garlic cloves

 

1. To prepare salad, bring broth to a boil in a medium saucepan; gradually stir in couscous.  Remove from heat; cover and let stand 5 minutes.  Fluff with fork.  Spoon couscous into a large bowl; cool slightly.  Add chicken, onions, radishes, cucumber, parsley, and pine nuts to couscous; toss gently to combine.

 

2. To prepare dressing, combine vinegar and remaining ingredients, stirring with a wisk.  Drizzle dressing over salad; toss to combine. 

 

Additional notes:

 

Sometimes I add dried cranberries if I’m eating the salad by itself.  To stretch it, you can add more couscous.  I hope you enjoy it!

 

 

For more recipes and tips on bone broth, visit Cheeseslave for Real Food Wednesday.  Or for more recipes in general, visit the Grocery Cart Challenge Recipe Swap.

 

4 responses to “Chicken Couscous Salad

  1. Pingback: Real Food Wednesday: Bone Broth Recipes | CHEESESLAVE

  2. I love this recipe, but I don’t add the parsley. I find the parsley gives it too bitter of a taste. And I always add dried cranberries. I find that texture is really important in this recipe, so I chop the radishes very finely, and I make the cucumbers really small, too. I cook the chicken by sauting it in olive oil with salt and pepper (I’m not a huge fan of baked chicken for this recipe).

  3. Is there a way you can add the nutrition value to your recipes?

  4. I’ve seen things like that and I love them! I actually bought one once that cut toast into the shape of a heart…but I didn’t like it because it made the toast so small and puny and shriveled looking. It was hard to make it look scrumptious I suppose is what I’m getting at. But that one looks like a lot better design. You still get the cute effect without getting rid of half the bread. I love it.

    Oh and the hair is going well. Today is day 20 and it is drastically better than on day 4 which is when I was feeling really gross. However, it’s still a little off and not quite ready to be worn down for too long. I’m giving it until day 31 to be able to be worn down and look totally normal. If not, I’ll at least drastically cut back on shampoo use.

    NAOmni

Leave a Reply

