Who Started The Rumor That Childbirth Is The Worst Pain?

Because that is simply not true. 

 

From what I’ve heard, passing a kidney stone is way worse.  From what I’ve experienced, having a peritonsular abscess is.  I spent most of last night in the ER (thinking I had an ear infection, because my the right side of my face was numb and I had excruciating pain and pressure on the ear), only to find out that the thing I thought was a bad (read: so swollen and painful I didn’t eat and barely drank for three days) canker sore on the back of my tongue was the cause of ALL MY SYMPTOMS.

 

How does such a thing happen, you ask?  Nobody has given me a good answer.  Apparently, it’s a form of strep throat.  Since I’ve never had any throaty sicknesses, I had no clue.  All I can say is that my childbirth experiences do not compare, and oddly enough, were closer to this.

 

Back to the abscess.  So today, I had to follow up with an ENT (ear, nose, throat doctor) to see about, er, “clearing it.”  Since they didn’t have enough epinephrine like the dentists use to fully numb the area (and because of my adverse reaction to the stuff), they decide to use a liquid lidocaine anesthetic that you gargle with to numb the area.  It didn’t do a great job numbing the abscess, but even worse, they kept poking into the nerve it was sitting on that connects to my ear (this is called referred pain).  So I basically screamed through all of it while I held onto my ear. 

 

So what exactly was the procedure?  Stop reading here if you’re squeamish.  (Maybe that warning should’ve already been issued.  Oops!)

 

First, they stuck a hypodermic needle into the abscess to extract some of the pus.  When they didn’t strike gold the first time, they tried at two other locations.  When all of that proved unfruitful, they lanced it with a scalpel.  Oh yeah, did I mention that I was barely anesthetized?

5 responses to “Who Started The Rumor That Childbirth Is The Worst Pain?

  1. Oh my gosh. That sounds horrible. Nasty! Are you contagious?

  2. That is horrible! I have heard that those are extremely painful. I think that’s what Tom Hanks had in Cast Away and he used an ice skate to knock out the tooth. They should have given you a more powerful anesthetic because that sounds torturous!

  3. I agree. I thought I had an ear infection – or more specifically, another one b/c 3 weeks ago I was treated for an ear infection that only got a little better for a week and then came back. I was trying to be tough – I have given birth twice afterall and should be able to handle an ear infection. Now, I have to have 3 days of IV antibiotics, steroids, and can still expect to be lance in 2 days. This is fun!

  4. God bless you, Erin! I ended up going to the ER twice and getting it lanced twice, so I can only say that I’m sorry you have to go through with it! Nobody knows how bad it is until it happens to them!

    It is now a month after I posted about that, and I’m having some ear and sinus issues — but I don’t feel a sore in my mouth like I did before. I’m seeing my primary care doctor tomorrow just to make sure everything’s okay, since I have a crackling in my right ear and my right jaw hurts (both of which I experienced with the abscess). Supposedly, if this happens again, I get to have my tonsils removed! Which sounds WAY better than the whole lancing thing again! I’m really hoping it’s just a simple ear infection, though.

    I hope you recover well and don’t experience too much pain (ha! we all know the reality there). I will keep you in my prayers — I don’t personally know anyone else this has happened to, but I know I wouldn’t wish it on anyone.

    Take care!

  5. Well, now I can say I have had all three – currently suffering with the peritonsular abcess, have had 3 childbirths, and 2 kidney stones (one while 8.5 months pregnant with the second child – actually thought I was in labor!) I can definately say the abcess is bad, but not nearly as bad as the kidney stone, and I don’t know – childbirth for me was EXTREMELY PAINFULL! One thing though, I am going to get the tonsils out in June and I am sure that it will be way more painfull for a longer period of time than any of the three I listed.

Leave a Reply

